The Secretariat is headed by the Executive Secretary, who is appointed by the Assembly of Parties for a mandate of four years. The Executive Secretary, who is the legal representative of EUTELSAT, acts under the direction of the Assembly of Parties and is directly responsible to it for the performance of all functions of the Secretariat.

At its 40th meeting in March 2017, the Assembly of Parties appointed Mr Piotr Dmochowski-Lipski from Poland for a mandate of four years from 2 July 2017.

The Executive Secretary has the power to appoint all Secretariat staff. Ms Estelle Schnitzler is the Administrator in charge of External Relations of EUTELSAT IGO. Ms Petra Šajn is a project manager in charge of communication of EUTELSAT IGO.

The Secretariat is based in Paris and engages the services of external consultants as and when required.