The Intergovernmental Satellite Organisations



On 2 December 2009 a tripartite Memorandum of Understanding was signed by the European Telecommunications Satellite Organization (EUTELSAT IGO), the International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO) and the International Telecommunications Satellite Organization (ITSO) following the agreement of each organisation’s Plenary Assembly. The Heads of the three intergovernmental satellite organisations meet on a regular basis to discuss matters of mutual interest and to give further consideration for joint initiatives, for example harmonisation of the regulatory framework applicable to satellite communications and to facilitate market access, capacity building and training.

The 12th Tripartite meeting was held virtually on 9 February 2021 at the invitation of the Director General of ITSO. The Heads of the three organisations reviewed the developments related to their organisations since the last Tripartite meeting in 2019 and discussed current topics such as the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on the satellite service providers they supervise. The organisations furthermore reaffirmed their shared goals of bridging the broadband digital divide and their support and commitment to the UN efforts towards achieving the Sustainable Development Goals. The press release for the meeting is available here.

The 13th Tripartite meeting will be organised and hosted by EUTELSAT IGO.



EUTELSAT IGO and the Intersputnik International Organization of Space Communications signed an Agreement on Cooperation on 15 May 2019 in order to reinforce their relationships. The two organisations have mutual observer status during plenary meetings of the Assembly of Parties for EUTELSAT and the Council for INTERSPUTNIK. This Agreement is an important milestone in the long history of cooperation between EUTELSAT IGO, Intersputnik and Eutelsat S.A..