The Executive Secretary

The Executive Secretary is appointed by and is responsible to the EUTELSAT IGO Assembly of Parties. At its 40th meeting in March 2017, the Assembly of Parties elected Mr Piotr Dmochowski-Lipski of Poland for a four-year term beginning on 2 July 2017. He became the Executive Secretary and the legal representative of EUTELSAT IGO.

Mr Piotr Dmochowski-Lipski is a senior executive with 35 years of professional experience in media, telecom, satellite and cable. He also served as Director General of Poland’s Ministry of Culture and National Heritage. Prior to his appointment he was an Expert Adviser to the Polish Ministry of Digital Affairs and Chairman of EUTELSAT IGO Advisory Committee.

He also represented Poland in ITSO, ESA, EBU and various committees of the European Union. Mr. Dmochowski-Lipski holds a Master in Public Administration degree from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, as well as an MBA with honors in Finance from Boston University.

In February 2018 Mr Dmochowski-Lipski was named Commissioner of the Broadband Commission for Sustainable Development.

Piotr Dmochowski-Lipski at the 40th Assembly of Parties of EUTELSAT IGO

He succeeded Mr Christian Roisse, a French national, who was Executive Secretary from 2005 to 2017 and Mrs Birgitta Näslund, a Swedish national, who was Executive Secretary from 2001 to 2005.